Awards and Honours Questions and Answers Part-13

1. Who among the following Nobel laureates has recently announced to put his Nobel Medal under Auction?
a) Kailash Satyarthi
b) J. D. Watson
c) Mikhail Gorbachev
d) Jody Williams

Answer: b
Explanation: James Watson, one of the scientists credited with discovering the structure of DNA, recently became the first ever living Nobel laureate to put his medal for auction.

2. Writers have been selected for Sahitya Akademi Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2018. Who among them is selected for the Rajasthani Language?
a) Dr. Chetan Swami
b) Dr. Jyoti Punj
c) Mohan Alok
d) C. L. Sankhlav

Answer: d
Explanation: No explanation is given for this question

3. Who was awarded the first Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award?
a) J. R. D. Tata
b) Mother Teresa
c) Morarji Desai
d) None of these

Answer: d
Explanation: The first Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavna award was conferred on Mother Teresa in 1992. The award was instituted by All India Congress Committee of the Indian National Congress Party in 1992 to commemorate the lasting contribution made by the former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. It is given on 20 August, the birth anniversary of Rajiv Gandhi.

4. Film Pather Panchali was directed by
a) Bimal Roy
b) Satyajit Ray
c) Mrinal Sen
d) Guru Dutt

Answer: b
Explanation: 'Pather Panchali' (A Song of the Little Road) marked Satyajit Ray's debut as a director. This masterpiece from Ray is a social drama inspired by a famous novel of the same name, by Bibhutibhushan Bandyopadhyay.

5. The third Indian Council of Cultural Relations (ICCR) distinguished Indologist Award for the year 2017 was awarded to Japanese professor . . . . . . .
a) Hiroshi Marui
b) Hiroshima Marui
c) Nagasaki Marui
d) Jayota Marui

Answer: a
Explanation: President Ram Nath Kovind on 27 November 2017 conferred the 3rd ICCR Distinguished Indologist Award to Professor Hiroshi Marui of Japan for his exemplary contribution to Indology.

6. Navanethem Pillay' has been honoured with which award?
a) Bookers Award
b) Pulitzer Award
c) Oscar Award
d) The Legion of Honour

Answer: d
Explanation: Navanethem Pillay' has been honoured with 'The Legion of Honour'.

7. The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded in which city?
a) Brussels
b) Geneva
c) Oslo
d) The Hague

Answer: c
Explanation: As stipulated in the will of the Swedish born inventor and international industrialist Alfred Nobel, which was opened after his death in 1896, the Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature are awarded in Stockholm, Sweden, while the Nobel Peace Prize is awarded in Oslo, Norway.

8. Magsaysay Award is given after Ramon Magsaysay. He was President of which nation?
a) Myanmar
b) Malaysia
c) Philippines
d) Sweden

Answer: c
Explanation: Magsaysay Award is named after Ramon Magsaysay, the third president of the Republic of the Philippines. Ramon Magsaysay died in air crash in 1957.

9. Who among the following is the winner of the Jnanpith Award for the year 2015?
a) Bhalachandra Nemade
b) Raghuveer Chaudhari
c) Pratibha Ray
d) Girish Karnad

Answer: b
Explanation: Raghuveer Chaudhari is a novelist, poet and critic from Gujarat, India. He won the Jnanpith Award for the year 2015.

10. Who has been conferred with the 2015 Jnanpith Award?
a) Pannalal Patel
b) Umashankar Joshi
c) Raghuveer Chaudhari
d) Rama Jain

Answer: c
Explanation: No explanation is given for this question